Poem a Day – Day 31 – Prompt is This Poetry Challenge

Happy Halloween and welcome to the last day of my adventure with poetry writing. I had some missteps along the way, but I think I managed to get a few up that I really liked. The overall experience has been a great one.

I am grateful to the OctPoWriMo organizers/creative team for putting this together and for the great prompts. Be sure to visit their blogs as they go into NaNoWriMo and other November writing challenges.

Julie Jordan Scott

Amy Phelps McGrath

Tamara Woods

Morgan Dragonwillow

My last poem speaks to my experience with this challenge. Here I would also like to say thanks to those of you who have joined me on this challenge and for the new people I have met along the way. Thank you. Hope to see you around. 🙂

What It’s About
By CJS

It’s has not been about perfection
It hasn’t really been about being good

It has been about trying for the best
It’s been-a lot- about pushing myself

It’s not as if I am a poet
It’s not like I have all the skills

It has been a lot about learning and
It’s been about allowing myself to try

It’s not been about competition
It has not been about harsh critique

It’s been supporting each other & also
It’s been about sharing love of poetry

It’s not really truly over
It will not end today

It’s been about changing ourselves.
It’s about continuing to change.

4 thoughts on “Poem a Day – Day 31 – Prompt is This Poetry Challenge

  1. and you grew as a writer. You can tackle anything and express it in different ways. Congrats on crossing the finish line. Well done

  2. I am so proud of you! You did it, and you did it well despite what you think. You are not the same woman I met almost a year ago who was only just getting into poetry. Thank you so much for encouraging me to join the challenge. It was an incredible experience. 🙂

Leave a comment